Cambridge International Examinations offers Cambridge IGCSE and Cambridge International AS & A Level. Cambridge ensures that its programs and syllabuses are culturally sensitive, designed for an international context and set a global standard for international education.

Every learner is a language learner: Language plays a particularly critical role in the school curriculum. If English is the language of instruction then it is also the medium through which students’ access learning and communicates their understanding in all their subjects. Schools often have learners with different language profiles, and this reality is addressed through; training the students to learn the English Language, to practice it and achieve fluency. With globalization the English language stands as a medium of knowledge and a passport to other countries. The syllabus is tailor made to create a sense of curiosity in learning new things and to give handson experience of the contents the students have studied.


Cambridge hopes that its learner attributes can contribute by encouraging teachers to focus on the strategies and habits needed for lifelong learning within and beyond the curriculum.

The academic disciplines provide the foundation for this, and Cambridge concentrates on supporting the development and application of deep understanding to real-world problems. Building interdisciplinary understanding is also a powerful skill and increasingly important, provided it is grounded in disciplinary understanding.

The syllabuses and teaching strategies work together to enhance 21st century skills in the learners:

  • Critical thinking
  • Collaboration and teamwork
  • Creativity and Imagination
  • Problem Solving
  • Flexibility and Adaptability
  • Global and Cultural Awareness
  • Leadership
  • Technology
  • Initiative
  • Social Responsibility and Ethics


Currently, IGCSE is a two-year program starting at the Class 9 level. A student who has done his/ her early schooling from any other board can join the IGCSE program at the Class 9 level.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a globally recognized qualification, taken at the Class 10 level, which is similar to the Class 10 examinations of the CBSE and ICSE.

IGCSE, formed in 1988, is a comprehensive two-year program, spread over Class 9 and 10, and leads to the final examinations offered every year in May and November.

A student who has passed IGCSE is eligible for any +2 level qualifications, like Class 12 CBSE/ ICSE or any international pre-university program, like the IB Diploma, Advanced Placement Diploma (US), and A/AS Level & AICE (UK).

Some advanced level subjects are more frequently required for entry to degree courses than others. We call these subjects ‘facilitating’ because choosing them at advanced level leaves open a wide range of options for university study. These facilitating subjects are:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • English Language & Literature
  • Geography
  • History
  • Physics
  • Modern and Classical Languages
  • Mathematics and Further Mathematics

IGCSE courses offered at SVIS are as follows:

  • English as II Language
  • Sciences- Biology, Physics & Chemistry
  • Computer Studies
  • Mathematics

For each subject, the certificate merely indicates the grades scored, and not pass or fail.

Five scores of ‘C’ or higher indicates students readiness to pursue +2 level qualifications, like the Class 12 CBSE, IB Diploma, Advanced Placement Diploma (US), etc. The curriculum supports the development of learners and teachers who are confident, responsible, reflective, innovative and engaged. The demands of living and working in the contemporary world, characterized by uncertainty, globalization, rapid change and technological innovation, need to be reflected in a school’s educational approach.

Factual knowledge is in abundance and freely available. The ability to process and apply knowledge effectively and wisely is now critical. Learners need to become problem solvers, able to interact with subject content in critical and innovative ways. They should acquire and employ strategies of assessing, processing, synthesizing and evaluating content and develop an understanding of how it all fits together as an academic discipline.

In addition to acquiring these broad-based skills, successful learners learn to take responsibility for their own learning. They do this by developing self-awareness, self-motivation and by adopting strategies and habits to take control of their learning. They are inquisitive and actively engaged, able to shift easily between independent study and collaborative enquiry. Additionally, the acquisition and implementation of ICT skills to access, process, evaluate, to communicate and share knowledge and understanding are considered fundamental learning competencies.

However there is an international bench mark examination to assess the student’s learning ability. Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint tests have been designed to assess learners at the end of Cambridge Lower Secondary.  They are available in English, English as a second language, mathematics and science, and give valuable feedback on learners’ strengths and weaknesses before they progress to the next stage of education.

The School time is as under:

The School timing: 8.30 a.m. to 3.40 p.m.

At SVIS AS Level, we offer:

  • English Literature
  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics

What are the subjects in the IGCSE curriculum?

There are five Subject Groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from, in each


Group 1:  Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc)

Group 2:  Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, ET

Group 3:  Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc)

Group 4:  Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc)

Group 5:  Creative, Technical & Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc.)